nomadvina.blogg.se

Plex on mac mini server
Plex on mac mini server














You could of course make a completely separate Apple ID for your server, but then you have headaches with 2FA and app purchases, so I have stuck to using my own Apple ID and my partner using this for Home Sharing. So my partner’s iPhone has her Apple ID as the main one, but my Apple ID for Home Sharing – because my Apple ID is the one that is set for Home Sharing on the Mac mini. The confusing thing with Home Sharing that Apple does not explain on its explanation page is that you can use a different Apple ID for Home Sharing than for the main Apple ID on your device. Here, and elsewhere on the net when travelling, “Home Sharing” has to be used, and is explained here – note this must not be confused with Family Sharing. To other Macs on the network (but not elsewhere) “Share media with guests” works – the Library appears in Music (or, on older Macs, iTunes) on the network. Also as an External DVD Drive is currently connected so as to rip the few other CDs and DVDs I have here, these CDs will then be saved to the Mac mini library and then also accessible to the other devices connected here. This makes an orderly media library on the Mac mini. The setup in the Music App and in Media Sharing in System Preferences is: It all starts with Apple Music on the Mac mini. The answer is initially simple, but there were some glitches to get it just right.

plex on mac mini server

But playing this music at home (and on the road as well if possible) – and indeed from multiple devices – is one of the central aims of the server project.

plex on mac mini server

I do not want 150Gb of music on my MacBook all the time (note: I will keep some mp3s on the MacBook, but just a few thousand), and I do not want to pay for enough iCloud storage to store them all there too. I have more than 28000 mp3 files, ripped from CDs I got rid of long ago.

plex on mac mini server

Music, Films, Photos – the Plex alternative.Do read part 1 about the requirements and the hardware, and part 2 about the repairs and the network setup first.

#Plex on mac mini server series#

This is part 3 of the series about the Mac mini server.














Plex on mac mini server